Spotlight On Entertainment is now TVMusic Network

June 10, 2012

Dance with Film Festival names 'Fray' Grand Jury Prize winner

The winners were announced for the Dances with Films (DWF) Film Festival at Grauman's Chinese Theatre.  

This year's Competition Winners were:

Feature Competition
-Grand Jury Prize - FRAY (Director/Writer - Geoff Ryan, Producer - Jodi Redmond)
-Honorable Mention - SMALL CREATURES  (Director/Writer/Producer - Martin Wallace)
-Audience Award  - DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR (Director - Iris Almaraz w/Guest Director Gustavo Ramos, Writers - Iris Almaraz & Gustavo Ramos, Producer - Joey Mendez)

Documentary Competition
-Audience Award - THE EXQUISITE CORPSE PROJECT (Director - Ben Popik, Writers - Chioke Nassor, Joel Clark, Adam Conover, Dave Segal, Raphael Bob-Waksberg, Producers - Margaret Laney & Ben Popik)

Fusion Short
-Audience Award - HI, LILLIAN (Director - Mike Lemcke, Writers - Mike Lemcke & Grant Lyon, Producer - Grant Lyon)

Fusion Feature
-Audience Award - SHOWBOYS (Director -Johnny Soto, Writers - Johnny Soto & Jeff Garner, Producer - Diana Vu)

Short Competition
-Grand Jury Prize - CRESCENDO (Director/Writer/Produer - Alonso Alvarez Barreda)
-Honorable Mention - A DAY IN THE LIFE OF YOUR CATS (Director/Producer - Jeffrey Williams, Writer/Producer - Dan Greenberger)
-Audience Award - TEN DOLLAR COVER (Director - Bubba Carr, Writers - Bubba Carr & LC Crowley & Grayson Hunter, Producers - LC Crowley & Michelle Keller 

For its 2nd year, DWF gives an ICA (Industry Choice Award) to a filmmaker juried by this years industry luminaries Mark Ordesky (LORD OF THE RINGS Exec. Producer/Amber Ent.), Steven Wegner (THE BLIND SIDE/Alcon Ent.), Mike Macari (THE RING I & II, 
Macari/Edelstein) and Tracy Bing(MARCH OF THE PENGUINS, GOOD NIGHT AND GOOD LUCK).  

This year's ICA Award goes to 2 films:  
-INTO THE WAKE (Director - John Mossman, Writers/Producers -Tim Miller & John Mossman)
-CRESCENDO (Director/Writer/Produer - Alonso Alvarez Barreda)

For its 6th year, Canon sponsor's DWF's 2 MINUTE, 2 STEP SHORT FILM CHALLENGE which brings 6 filmmmaking teams together as they are given just 4 hours to shoot and edit a two minute film.

This year's 2 MINUTE, 2 STEP SHORT FILM CHALLENGE winner is:
-CRIME IN A BOX by Jeff Lorch and Jason Weissbrod

For more info about the festival, visit their website at 
Web Analytics