Spotlight On Entertainment is now TVMusic Network

November 25, 2014

Independent Spirit Awards 2015: complete nominees list

Nominations for the 2015 Independent Spirit Awards were announced this morning. The awards will be handed out the day before the Oscar on February 21, 2015. The afternoon ceremony at the beach in Santa Monica is one of the most anticipated awards shows of the season. Some of the nominees listed here are sure to be Oscar nominees as well when the Academy announces their list on January 15, 2015.
Below are the nominees:  
BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.) 
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole 
 Boyhood Producers: Richard Linklater, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, Cathleen Sutherland 
Love is Strange Producers: Lucas Joaquin, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, Jay Van Hoy 
Selma Producers: Christian Colson, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Oprah Winfrey 
Whiplash Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster, Michael Litvak  
Damien Chazelle Whiplash 
Ava DuVernay Selma 
Alejandro G. Iñárritu Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 
Richard Linklater Boyhood
David Zellner Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter
Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski Big Eyes 
J.C. Chandor A Most Violent Year 
Dan Gilroy Nightcrawler 
Jim Jarmusch Only Lovers Left Alive 
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias Love is Strange  
BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer) 
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night Director: Ana Lily Amirpour Producers: Justin Begnaud, Sina Sayyah 
Dear White People Director/Producer: Justin Simien Producers: Effie T. Brown, Ann Le, Julia Lebedev, Angel Lopez, Lena Waithe 
Nightcrawler Director: Dan Gilroy Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy, Jake Gyllenhaal, David Lancaster, Michel Litvak 
Obvious Child Director: Gillian Robespierre Producer: Elisabeth Holm
She's Lost Control Director/Producer: Anja Marquardt Producers: Mollye Asher, Kiara C. Jones  
Desiree Akhavan Appropriate Behavior 
Sara Colangelo Little Accidents 
Justin Lader The One I Love 
Anja Marquardt She's Lost Control 
Justin Simien Dear White People
 JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded. 
Blue Ruin Writer/Director: Jeremy Saulnier Producers: Richard Peete, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani 
It Felt Like Love Writer/Director/Producer: Eliza Hittman Producers: Shrihari Sathe, Laura Wagner Land 
Ho! Writers/Directors: Aaron Katz & Martha Stephens Producers: Christina Jennings, Mynette Louie, Sara Murphy 
Man From Reno Writer/Director: Dave Boyle Writers: Joel Clark, Michael Lerman Producer: Ko Mori 
Test Writer/Director/Producer: Chris Mason Johnson Producer: Chris Martin 
Marion Cotillard The Immigrant 
Rinko Kikuchi Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter 
Julianne Moore Still Alice 
Jenny Slate Obvious Child 
Tilda Swinton Only Lovers Left Alive 
André Benjamin Jimi: All Is By My Side 
Jake Gyllenhaal Nightcrawler 
Michael Keaton Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 
John Lithgow Love is Strange 
David Oyelowo Selma  
Patricia Arquette Boyhood 
Jessica Chastain A Most Violent Year 
 Carmen Ejogo Selma 
 Andrea Suarez Paz Stand Clear of the Closing Doors 
Emma Stone Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 
Riz Ahmed Nightcrawler 
Ethan Hawke Boyhood 
Alfred Molina Love is Strange
Edward Norton Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 
J.K. Simmons Whiplash  
Darius Khondji The Immigrant 
 Emmanuel Lubezki Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 
Sean Porter It Felt Like Love 
Lyle Vincent A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night 
Bradford Young Selma  
Sandra Adair Boyhood 
Tom Cross Whiplash 
John Gilroy Nightcrawler 
 Ron Patane A Most Violent Year 
Adam Wingard The Guest
 BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer) 
20,000 Days on Earth Directors: Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard Producers: Dan Bowen, James Wilson 
CITIZENFOUR Director/Producer: Laura Poitras Producers: Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky 
Stray Dog Director: Debra Granik Producer: Anne Rosellini 
The Salt of the Earth Directors: Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and Wim Wenders Producer: David Rosier 
Virunga Director/Producer: Orlando von Einsiedel Producer: Joanna Natasegara 
BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director) 
Force Majeure (Sweden) Director: Ruben Östlund 
Ida (Poland) Director: Pawel Pawlikowski 
Leviathan (Russia) Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev 
Mommy (Canada) Director: Xavier Dolan 
Norte, the End of History (Philippines) Director: Lav Diaz 
Under the Skin (United Kingdom) Director: Jonathan Glazer  
ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD - (Given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast) 
Inherent Vice Director: Paul Thomas Anderson Casting Director: Cassandra Kulukundis Ensemble Cast: Josh Brolin, Martin Donovan, Jena Malone, Joanna Newsom, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Katherine Waterston, Michael Kenneth Williams, Owen Wilson, Reese Witherspoon  
Foxcatcher Director/Producer: Bennett Miller Producers: Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik Writers: E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman Actors: Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum 
18th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 18th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget. 
Chad Burris Elisabeth Holm Chris Ohlson
21st ANNUAL KIEHL'S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 21st annual Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Kiehl's Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl's Since 1851. 
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night Director: Ana Lily Amirpour 
H. Directors: Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia 
The Retrieval Director: Chris Eska  
20th ANNUAL LENSCRAFTERS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 20th annual Truer Than Fiction Award, sponsored by LensCrafters is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by LensCrafters. 
Approaching the Elephant Director: Amanda Rose Wilder 
 Evolution of a Criminal Director: Darius Clark Monroe 
The Kill Team Director: Dan Krauss 
The Last Season Director: Sara Dosa

No comments:

Web Analytics